Category: Awards

Eight MAFC States Awarded 2015 TIGER Grant

Awards Funding News

Eight of the ten MAFC states–Kansas, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin–have been awarded a 2015 TIGER grant for a Regional Truck Parking Information and Management System. MAFC researchers supported this TIGER application with a synthesis of the literature and previous efforts to study, test, and implement a range of truck parking information systems […]

Mid-America Transportation Awards

Awards MAFC

The Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, and Missouri DOTs have received top honors in this year’s Mid-America regional American Transportation Awards competition, sponsored by AASHTO, AAA, and the U.S. Chamber of Commerce. The competition honors transportation projects in three categories: Ahead of Schedule, Under Budget, and Best Use of Innovation. Of the twelve transportation projects from seven […]

President's awards to go several MAFC states

Awards MAFC

Four MAFC states have been selected for national awards from AASHTO. Kansas, Illinois, Indiana, and Michigan each garnered a President’s Transportation Award. The annual President’s Transportation Awards recognize individuals, programs, or teams for improving environmental conditions, utilizing technology, implementing excellent executive management skills, increasing efficiencies, and making effective use of taxpayer dollars. Kansas (Aviation) – […]

Ten Best Transportation Projects


AASHTO, AAA, and the US Chamber of Commerce recently released the list of the finalists for the ten best American transportation projects. Among the MAFC states, Kansas, Kentucky, and Michigan made it into the final round. Kansas — K-23 Practical Improvement project: Time and taxpayer money were saved when the Kansas Department of Transportation used […]

Making a Difference in the MAFC

Awards MAFC News

The National Partnership for Highway Quality (NPHQ) recently announced a series of Making a Difference awards. These awards honor projects that exemplify highway quality, safety, and service. Once again, projects in MAFC states figure heavily in the list of award winners. The Michigan Department of Transportation (MDOT) took home three awards: The Michigan Department of […]

Award Winners in the MAFC

Awards MAFC News

During the 2010 AASHTO Annual Meeting, a number of state DOTs and officials were recognized for their contribution to the field of transportation. We’d like to extend our congratulations to all of the award winners–but especially to the three award winners from organizations in one of the ten MAFC states: Thomas H. MacDonald Memorial Award […]