Illinois

Primary Technical Contact

Kevin Schoeben
Deputy Director
Office of Planning & Programming
Illinois Department of Transportation

Experience
Years in Organization 3
Years in Freight 3
Modal Expertise Not specified
Data & Modeling Expertise Not specified
Planning Expertise Not specified
Operations Expertise Not specified
Primary Freight Responsibilities In his current position, Kevin’s lead assignment is to move IDOT towards a more multimodal approach to planning and programming, particularly as it relates to freight initiatives. Kevin has been heavily involved in the work of the National Freight Advisory Committee (NFAC) and was appointed to MARAD’s Marine Transportation System National Advisory Council (MTSNAC) recently announced by Secretary Foxx. As a co-sponsor of the M-55 Maritime Corridor Study, Kevin led the Department’s efforts on exploring container-on-barge potential on the Illinois River and the Mississippi River and makes numerous presentations about the challenges facing industry, ports and state DOT’s. Kevin is also an appointee to the Council of Great Lakes Governors Maritime Task Force that is studying the opportunities and challenges of freight movement on the Great Lakes.
Education BA, University of Illinois Champaign-Urbana; MPA, University of Illinois-Springfield
Contact Info
Phone Number 217.557.5434
E-mail kevin.schoeben@illinois.gov
Website Illinois DOT Office of Planning and Programming

Organization Information

Modes
Freight Planning Freight Mobility

Kevin Schoeben, kevin.schoeben@illinois.gov (217) 557-5434
Susan Stitt, susan.stitt@illinois.gov (217) 782-8080
Nathan Bishop, nathan.bishop@illinois.gov (217) 524-1549

Highway Operations & Maintenance Highway Information (under Programs)

Justan Mann, justan.mann@illinois.gov (217) 785-0888
Britt Edwards, britt.edwards@illinois.gov (217) 785-2908

Trucking & OSOW Truckers

Public Contact Office (217) 785-1477 Ext. 1
Public Contact Office (217) 782-6271

Railways Rail Freight Program

DeAnna Smith, deanna.smith@illinois.gov (217) 785-8498
Sam Tuck, samuel.tuck@illinois.gov (312) 793-3940

Waterways Nathan Bishop, nathan.bishop@illinois.gov (217) 524-1549
Aviation Division of Aeronautics

Susan Shea, Director, susan.shea@illinois.gov (217) 785-8500
B.J. Murray, bj.murray@illinois.gov (217) 782-4118

Other
Additional Information
Freight Plans Freight Mobility Plan
Rail Plan
DOT Organizational Chart Illinois DOT Organizational Chart
Other Program Pages Illinois State Freight Advisory Council
Print Friendly